A Cool and Crisp Sunday Morning ~ What I Love About Wisconsin Winters

Wisconsin – Part of my backyard

For wintertime, I did love the feel of this morning’s sunrise. It was cool and crisp but yet kind of a soft feeling to it. Everything was covered with a bit of hoarfrost, maybe that added to the ambiance of this morning.

It is supposed to snow this afternoon and I love when it snows. The ambiance of a good snowfall makes me so happy.

We moved to Wisconsin in May of 2018 from Granbury, Texas! We only lived in Texas for 3 years and we were from Chicago. My heart has forever been wanting to be in Wisconsin, though. In my 20’s and 30’s I would go camping in Wisconsin as much as I could (in the summer, not the winter).

When we left Chicago for Texas I thought, oh boy! This is going to be so great! I will never have to experience another winter, EVER! Who knew I would miss the four seasons so much! So I took that opportunity to get out of the heat and back into the freezer and we moved to Wisconsin.

We live fairly far North in Wisconsin and the outdoor winter activities are abundant! We live on a large body of water so there are ice fisherman out there everyday, we have the snowmobilers and people driving there UTV’s around. We don’t participate in any of the winter activities I’ve mentioned but I love watching other people enjoying the winter. We like to walk in the back of our property when it’s frozen over. We have the large body of water in the front and the marsh in the back. Lots of water!

The summers are great here, too. Not too hot. Or if we do have hot spell it doesn’t last that long. Fly season was horrible this year, though (usually September). It seemed to last much longer than other years. It’s horrible every year but I’ll deal with it. Otherwise, Fall is so pretty. I also the love the Spring when my garden starts to come to life.

What kind of seasons do you have where you live?

Leave a comment